Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow

5 Mar

Another prompt from The Daily Post: Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow.

I had to laugh when I saw this week’s photo challenge, because a bunch of my Twitter friends participate in what we call Sunday Pics. Every week, our fearless leader @wombat37 (or one of his Minions) names a theme, and then we tweet photos to align with that theme, hashtagged with #sundaypics.

The reason I’m laughing is that @jamerz3294 recently hosted the event with the theme “Me and My Shadow”. So if you’d like to see my tweeps’ shadowy images, go check them out. I’ll post mine here after the jump.

I started with a very literal interpretation of the theme:

Me (my hand) & my shadow (pretending to be a dog)!

Then I went to bed. When I woke up, I literally slapped my forehead for missing out on a goldmine of an askew interpretation and ended up tweeting four more photos:

The majority of my Shadow comic collection, two of the original pulp fiction magazines, the 1994 film on VHS, and the film's novelization

The reason for four more photos? I forgot how extensive my collection was and kept photographing other bits of it as I remembered. If I’d remembered what all I had before the first photo above, it would’ve been more inclusive of my full collection.

The pride of my collection. Original pulp fiction magazine containing the novel "Cards of Death" and published 1 May 1938, just over 7 months after The Shadow's radio drama premiered.

1970s reprints of the novels originally published in the pulp fiction magazine (1931-1949).

Modern-day reprints, thanks to the efforts of Anthony Tollin. They're the same size, shape, and feel as the original magazine and include the full, unedited text of two novels, complete with original artwork.

Last I checked (I’m very behind in acquiring them), the modern reprints can be found in bookstores like Barnes & Noble or Borders, on Amazon.com, or you can order them (individually or as a subscription) directly from Anthony Tollin (click on the magazines on the desk). Tollin is also slated to be one of the Guests of Honor at this year’s CONvergence, so if you’re in the Minneapolis area for Independence Day weekend, come hang out; it’s a great con.

For a primer on the fascinating crimefighter known as The Shadow, Wikipedia is an okay place to start. Here’s your first factoid to get you started: The Shadow played a part in the inspiration for both Batman and Alan Moore’s V (V for Vendetta). But if you really want to get to know the character, I strongly recommend checking out the reprints of the original 1931-1949 pulp fiction novels; the radio drama (1937-1954) and comics (various) don’t do him justice, and the 1994 Alec Baldwin movie is just…bad. I’m indebted to it for introducing me to the character, but it’s not a good film.

Until my next post, remember: “The weed of crime bears bitter fruit. Crime does not pay! The Shadow knows!”

3 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow”

  1. TRKN 7 March 2011 at 16:55 #

    I can only see the magazine. I suppose there must be other photos as well but I can only see their captions. Luv the mag tho :)

    • ButMadNNW 7 March 2011 at 18:21 #

      That’s odd. Thanks for the heads up!

      ETA: Should be fixed now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On a special anniVersary « The Refuge from Reality - 17 March 2011

    [...] I have a tendency to be drawn to interests that no one in my Real World shares (or at least, not as strongly and obsessively), at university I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

