I need your help: Knitting to save the CARDIS

22 Jun

UPDATE!: As of 12:00 PDT, 24 June, I’m only about $10 from my minimum goal! HUGE thanks to everyone who’s helped out!

As many of you know, I’ve been out of work for several months now and trying to find a job. I’ve been more-or-less maintaining the illusion of staying afloat, but not wisely. I am at the end of my rope and dangling by the last string. The job I was supposed to walk into when I got to California? Still waiting on the background check. I’ve been putting out more applications, but anything I might get will take some time to get started.

I’m not very good at asking for help, especially not handouts. I don’t even like to talk openly on the Internet about my financial problems. But I need some serious help.

Here’s why:

Earlier tonight, my car loan company informed me that if I can’t get a payment to them by the end of June, they’re going to start taking steps towards repossessing my car (who is dubbed the CARDIS). I now live in a very rural area. There is no public transit. If I don’t have a car, I can’t get to work – I can’t even find a job.

I need your help, but in return you get A THING!: A hand-knitted reusable cup sleeve for your morning cup o’ joe or tea – Earl Grey – hot. (Or possibly, your cup of something almost, but not quite, entirely unlike tea.)

Your cup sleeve may look like this - or not.

You are welcome to donate any amount, but for a minimum donation of $10 US or £8 GBP, I will make you your very own cup sleeve and get it to you as soon as possible, i.e., as soon as it’s finished and I can post it. Once you click the donate button, you can leave a message with your color choice (see list below). If you just want to help and don’t want a cup sleeve, you can do that too; just let me know in the box.

As an extra-special added incentive, for Whovians and Sherlockians: With a donation of $15 (£11) or more, you can choose a sleeve inspired by the Fourth Doctor’s scarf or John’s Jumper from Sherlock! (NB: John’s Jumper is a beige cable-knit; you’re still welcome to choose your own color if you prefer.)

UPDATE #2: Because a couple people have asked: Yes, if you want to help and get a knitted item in return, but don’t drink coffee/tea, we can discuss another project for you. I suggested cup sleeves because they’re simple and a fairly quick knit. For more complex projects, I have to ask for a higher minimum donation. (I’m desperate here, but still trying to be sensible about return on my time investment, yarn cost, and such.)

Anything you can do is a big help, and very much appreciated. Thank you.

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!

Possible yarn colors: (All yarns are acrylic, cotton, and/or nylon. I cannot use wool due to allergies. All yarns are lovely to hold; I’m very picky.)

  • Green
  • Yellow
  • White
  • “Wood” (black/gray/rust)
  • Dark variegated pink
  • Light variegated pink
  • Pink (fibers: bamboo/acrylic/polyester)
  • Blue
  • Purple
  • Red
  • Dark brown
  • Toffee (medium brown)
  • Tan (light brown)
  • Black
  • Beige
  • Gray
  • Maroon
  • Lime green (yes, really)
2 Responses to “I need your help: Knitting to save the CARDIS”

  1. Farrah Lewis 24 June 2011 at 09:23 #

    I have been there. ((hugs)) I’ve been threatened by my former lien holder that they would take steps to repossess the car, and that was back when I owned a lemon that would cost more to fix than it was worth. I do know they threaten and threaten, but it will not move as fast as they are having you think. When my mom stopped payments to her lien holder because of her bankruptcy- they took months to finally repossess her car. The loan people love to scare you. It’s a tactic they use to get their money. One thing you can (forgive me if you already thought of this) do is tell them your situation… and perhaps make arrangements for payments. These days they might be more accepting to someone showing they are trying rather than not. :-)

    • ButMadNNW 24 June 2011 at 12:35 #

      Yup, I have been in communication with all my creditors. The car loan people are the ones being the most unhelpful. Once I start working (i.e. when I’d be able to make a payment), they’re willing to defer a payment to the end of my loan; right now, when I’m unable to pay, they’re not willing to do the deferment. It’s such backwards thinking.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

