Sugar embargo, Day 2

18 Feb

Last night, I did a 20-minute elliptical routine, rewarding myself with the promised cup (an actual cup – I measured) of chocolate milk. The milk I drink, by the by, is Over the Moon – fat-free, but with extra calcium and protein added. Their hype is true; somehow, they made it taste much richer than fat-free has any right to taste. Highly recommended. (And as an aside, watching The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson makes exercise much more entertaining.)

The mini-cupcakes in the kitchen were successfully glared down, I had no additional fruit, but I did indulge in a second travel mug of Earl Grey sans sugar. I’ve been avoiding caffeinated tea in the evenings lately, just on principle; I’ve never actually noticed caffeine to have an effect on me, like keeping me awake. The reason for the second tea last night was because I was told yet again I’ve been drinking it wrong all these years by doing so with milk in; so I wanted to try a “proper” Earl Grey, with lemon. Still not sure how I feel about that taste…

I also splurged on buying a weight-tracking app for my Droid Eris mobile phone (a whole 99¢!), with a fancy graph and everything. The first weigh-in for this round was performed this morning, and the result…. is a number I’m not telling you. It’s higher than I’d like it to be, and we’ll just leave it at that, shall we? I’m still at least 40 lbs lighter than I was at my heaviest, but 40ish lbs above where I’d like to be. Onward and downward!

So my lemony, sugar-free Earl Grey and I are off to work, to face the candy gauntlet in the office yet again. I solemnly swear that this blog is not going to be post after post obsessing about the sugar embargo, my weight, exercise, etc. I’ll just check in on this from time to time, or add an aside about it to posts on other topics. Just so you all can keep me honest and on track. Deal? 😉

3 Responses to “Sugar embargo, Day 2”

  1. ButMadNNW 18 February 2010 at 09:43 #

    Okay, the “possibly related posts” on this? Cruel. Just cruel. 😉

  2. Myladydisdain 18 February 2010 at 12:05 #

    One trick you can try is a mix drink I picked up from Starbucks- I don’t like my green tea straight, but mix it with some crystal light lemonade, about half and half, and you get a really nice drink. Starbucks also does it with the fruit teas and black teas, but I’m not a fan of the black teas. I imagine it would work great with Earl Grey, as I love my Earl Grey with lots of lemon (and when not dieting, brown sugar.)

    • ButMadNNW 18 February 2010 at 12:56 #

      Hmm, I’ll take that under advisement. But having now tried two travel mugs’ worth of Earl Grey with ReaLemon, I’m going back to putting in milk for a while. I just can’t get over the über-tartness in the last few sips.

      And thanks for visiting the new blog! 😀

Leave a Reply

