Mental Health Awareness Month

1 May

I’ve just recently discovered that May is Mental Health Awareness Month (MHAM). Just after this discovery, I thought this could be a good time to really get myself into a blogging routine: “I should do a daily post on something to do with mental health! After all, wasn’t I reading that great article only yesterday and wanting to blog on it?”

The problem is, I don’t know if I have enough to say. Obviously with my interest in psychology, this is a good topic to discuss; but it’s not like I’m an expert or anything. So I don’t know how this month will go. I’m going to make an attempt at posting something daily, even if it’s just a link to an article (without making that a habit). Ideally, the “something” will be on mental health and/or psychology and/or hypnosis. But we’ll see.

Since this is May 1 and I’ve been horribly busy all day with moving stuff and cinema-going and I’ve got a new Who (OMGWTFWEEPINGANGELS!) to watch, I thought I’d just post some links. A lot of these will look familiar if you’ve visited the My Favorite Refuges page of the blog.

Depression – Understand it, Treat it, Beat it has much information on depression. Includes a free quiz to determine if you have symptoms of clinical depression, a downloadable Depression Recovery Program, a free email course, and the free Depression Learning Path “for an in-depth understanding of clinical depression, how it impacts those who have it, and how to treat it.”

Exploring Trance, run by Joseph Kao, offers video mini-lectures on hypnosis and free MP3 hypnosis downloads from the head scriptwriter of HypnosisDownloads.com and co-trainer on Uncommon Knowledge’s excellent Precision Hypnosis course. Joe is a fantastic trainer, entertaining presenter, and talented hypnotherapist.

HypnosisDownloads.com offers an ever-growing library of top quality hypnosis MP3s and scripts covering a wide range of psychological and personal development issues. Sign up for their free 5-session email course to learn more about hypnosis!

Les Pensees Dangereuses is the e-book memoir of a friend of mine, in which she shares a number of essays about depression and related matters. She’s set it up on Smashwords so that you can set your own price, even $0. She says, “I wanted it to be accessible to anyone, regardless of where they were financially.”

No Kidding? Me Too! is an organization set up by Joe Pantoliano with the mission to “stomp the stigma” attached to mental dis-ease by getting people talking and realizing they’re not alone in this. “No kidding? You have that? Me too!”

Panic-Attacks.co.uk, similar to the depression site above, contains information and a free online/email course on panic attacks and how to stop them.

The Rewind Technique is a highly effective way to treat phobias and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). More people need to know of it and how to use it, if you ask me.

Self-Confidence.co.uk is a free course on building confidence and increasing self-esteem.

Uncommon Knowledge are single-handedly responsible for reawakening my interest in psychology and deepening my lifelong fascination with hypnosis. This UK-based company offers straightforward, down-to-earth psychology articles and online training. You can receive a free hypnosis MP3 to try simply by becoming their fan on Facebook. (And yes, a lot of these other links are their products, but that’s how strongly I believe in their work; even before I started working with them!)

UncommonHelp.me provides self-help guidance on a growing range of topics via articles written by Mark Tyrrell, copy edited by yours truly, and often augmented by a free brief audio session.

That’s all I have for now. Happy May Day and blessed Beltaine, everyone!

Leave a Reply

