Frizztastic Shakespeare

5 May

(Okay, okay, my hair’s not that frizzy.)

This is a bit of an experiment on my part – since I’ve never before recorded myself like this – as well as being an exercise in speaking/presenting. Strictly speaking, it’s not psychology-related; and yet it is, as an exercise in expressive speaking for the online course I’m currently taking, so I’m putting the ‘psych’ tag on this post.

Benedick’s soliloquy about the ridiculous behavior of the lovestruck is one of my favorite Shakespearean speeches and I memorized it years ago, making it a sensible choice for this first attempt at video (since I didn’t have to think too hard about what I was saying). I’m expecting to do more clips, building up to a more improvised presentation.

Enjoy. Be gentle. Be pedantic about the line I forgot by following along here.

And yes, I know, I’m not the “right sex” to recite Benedick, but I figure turnabout is fair play. 😉 Remember who played the women in Shakespeare’s time.

Oh, and sorry about the accent; I can’t help it when I do Shakespeare. :-/

2 Responses to “Frizztastic Shakespeare”

  1. Rae 5 May 2010 at 04:03 #

    BSTL! FTB!!!

    (and if you’re NOT a Nathan Fillion fan, BSTL is short for “BAM said the lady” and FTB is “Feed the Birds”… they’re his way of saying ‘way to go’ or ‘excellent!’)

    • ButMadNNW 5 May 2010 at 08:33 #

      Oh, yes, I’m well aware of Nathan’s coined phrases. And have squeed mightily the two times I’ve seen him FTB on Castle! 😉

      And thanks. 😀

Leave a Reply

