Archive | 21:20

Darkness on the Edge of Town

23 Oct

About a month ago, Brian Keene, apparently replying to several Twitter followers who’d pointed it out, said something about yes, he knew that Amazon was offering the Kindle edition of Darkness on the Edge of Town for free and that he wasn’t promoting it because he hadn’t authorized the deal and wasn’t making any money from it. Fair enough.

I started following Keene on Twitter this past summer after CONvergence announced him as one of the 2011 Guests of Honor. For that matter, I followed all the GoHs who had Twitter accounts, to “get to know them” a bit before next summer’s CON. So in the spirit of that aim – and being the opportunistic poor person I am – I took advantage of the offer (yay for free Android apps!) to download my first-ever e-book and read Darkness.

Having just finished the book (what? I’m busy and a slow-ish reader), I have to say that if Amazon was hoping offering one of Keene’s books for free would inspire me to buy more, they chose the wrong book. (Minor spoilers ahead.)

Continue reading

