Archive | 18:04

Holiday Storytelling: The Gift of the Magi

5 Dec

Friday night, my temp contract was abruptly cut short, so that night and Saturday were not conducive to this storytelling project. Never mind that Saturday involved, among other things, some housework and retail therapy – for my emotional and psychological gain, not material gain; I bought a few toys to donate to Toys for Tots. And may I just say that I have some fantastic friends and family!

In a further attempt to raise my own spirits before I go in tomorrow to turn in my security badge, it’s time to present one of my favorite holiday stories, in its entirety. Since this means two AudioBoo recordings, consider it a belated Saturday entry as well as Sunday’s entry.

The Gift of the Magi
by  O. Henry

Part 1:

If you cannot see the player above, click here.

Part 2:

If you cannot see the player above, click here.

(Last few seconds got cut off: “…Of all who give and receive gifts, such as they are wisest. Everywhere they are wisest. They are the magi.”)

