The cake is…

22 Jan

This being the Saturday after my birthday, I’d invited a bunch of friends to lunch. And I wanted cake for later. So on my actual birthday (Thursday), I went to the grocery store and ordered a cake.

This morning, I picked it up:

Finding Nemo Cake

Isn’t it cute? Yes, that is a Finding Nemo cake. Yes, I am a Disneyphile.

Stopping at home only long enough to leave the cake on the kitchen counter and pick up HousemateF, I went off for a very fun and very long (due to the kitchen losing our ticket, so without realizing it, we sat and gabbed for at least an hour before our chef came out) lunch with a wonderful group of geeky, fantastic friends. Including one who drove over from Wisconsin just to attend!

Back at home and debriefing HousemateM about the fun and gifts, I heard HF in the kitchen say, “Um… this isn’t the same cake?” On the counter, in the same spot, in a box from the same store, was sitting:

The cake is a lie!

HM lived up to his reputation as an Evil Genius. As soon as I’d ordered my cake, he called the store and ordered this one (I wish I could’ve heard that conversation!). As soon as he was sure we’d left for lunch, he went to pick it up. He hid my cake and left this one in its place.

In short, he gets major Housemate Points, Geek Points, and “Boy, does he know me” Points.

A crocheted Eleventh Doctor, a TARDIS tea mug, a Toon Town Online virtual party with Sister and Nephew, a gift certificate for “crack” (e.g. my favorite yarn store), a great lunch with great friends, etc. etc. etc. And this.

This has been a good birthday.

ETA: Just in case you don’t “get” the second cake, see here.

3 Responses to “The cake is…”

  1. Mona 25 January 2011 at 00:54 #

    I LOVE that you got your OWN birthday cake! I believe in taking control of your own birthday! I send out reminders well in advance (by the way, mine is THIS Thursday.) A couple of years ago, I wrote a piece about cake (no pun) for my birthday you might appreciate:

    http://monasgospelmusings.blogspot.com/2009/01/cherry-ty-over-chocolate-never-faileth.html

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

    • ButMadNNW 25 January 2011 at 01:45 #

      Thanks, Mona! And happy birthday to you! January babies unite! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The cake is… « The Refuge from Reality -- Topsy.com - 22 January 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kristen McHugh and Rebekah, Rebekah. Rebekah said: Latest from The Refuge: "The cake is…" http://wp.me/pNaVK-7V […]

Leave a Reply

