When teleportation is finally possible…

3 Feb

…is today’s writing prompt from the Daily Post blog, set in place by WordPress to encourage the PostADay/PostAWeek challenge participants. I opted for PostAWeek, because if you’ve been following this blog at all, you know I have trouble sticking with daily posts even for a month, let alone a year. And I still haven’t managed to post every week. Oy.

Anyway, to the topic.

When teleportation is finally possible, of course I’m going to the UK – and not coming back, except to move my belongings and sometimes visit family/friends. You follow me on Twitter, Facebook, or here. You already knew the answer to this question. 😉

I have to agree here with my one of my LJ friends, who always complains about the binary questions on offer through their “Writer’s Block” prompts. “Where will you beam yourself first?” isn’t necessarily binary, but it can be answered in a word or two. It’s hardly a writing prompt.

5 Responses to “When teleportation is finally possible…”

  1. J.R. LeMar 3 February 2011 at 22:06 #

    I will agree, some of the Daily Post topics have been better than others, in terms of giving you something to really write about. I mean, I know there isn’t any minimum word count in the post a day challenge (and I’m glad there isn’t), but I don’t just want to write a few sentences and call that a “blog post.” I figure I need @ least 2 paragraphs to not feel like I’m cheating.

    • ButMadNNW 4 February 2011 at 02:15 #

      I know what you mean. I sometimes do post just a sentence or two – like if I just want to direct attention over to another site or some cool event – but I don’t want to make a habit of that. That’s what Facebook and Twitter are for, not blogs. Thanks for stopping in! 🙂

  2. The Dreamer 27 February 2011 at 11:39 #

    Hey there, out of curiosity, you seem to really want to move to the UK? err..Why?
    Not that there’s that much wrong with the UK I guess, there are some beautiful scenery to be had, but the United State is equally amazing if not more so. Well, it’s bigger! There is so much to see and do in USA, so what’s wrong with it? I love visiting the states, so many places I haven’t yet had the chance to see… but I guess if you can lose sights of some of the beauty when you live and breathe the same everyday (just from my own experience). One of my friend just moved to Pennsylvania to be with the love of her life and she’s loving it! 🙂

    Well, good luck to you anyway and hope all goes well. If you do make it to the UK and want a contact, I’ll be happy to let you know of a few beautiful places here. 🙂

    • ButMadNNW 27 February 2011 at 20:24 #

      It’s something not everyone understands when I try to explain it to them, but … I just feel more comfortable in my own skin when I’m in the UK. It feels right to me. …From your comment, I kind of get the sense that you didn’t realize I’ve already been there, so bear with me:

      The first time I visited, I was 20 and it was the culmination of a lifelong wish to visit the country that intrigued me from an early age. When I got home from that spring holiday, I thought, “Right. That’s done. What’s next?” But within a month, I was wondering how I could get back! It took three years, but I went over for three and a half months as an autumn semester abroad during my uni studies, living with a family up in Golders Green and attending classes with my US professors at the University of London. By the end of that semester, I was so ready to go home that I thought I finally had the UK out of my system. But two to three months later, I was itching to go back again.

      That time, it took five years. A group of friends I’d made via the Internet were planning to meet up for Bonfire Night 2007 in London, the setting of the film that had brought us together. My current housemates and I were on a three-way chat, plotting airfare. The very moment my purchase was complete, this intense feeling of “I’m going Home!” rushed through my system and I felt an incredible happy calm.

      After two and a half weeks of puttering about London, playing tour guide for friends and discovering new sights (including visiting Brighton for the first time), HousemateF and I boarded our States-bound plane. The moment our wheels left the Heathrow tarmac, I burst into sobs. Same happened again in November 2008 and November 2009 (the latter being my parents’ first trip to the UK, with me as tour guide and cultural interpreter 😉 ). Not being able to go over last November felt weird, especially after two friends and I decided we had to postpone the Scotland trip we’d hoped to make this coming summer (I’ve not been to Scotland yet, though I’ve been in the other three countries; I have genetic ties to all parts of the UK, and – as you know – a professional connection to Scotland).

      I’m to the point anymore that I don’t even have to make any big, touristy plans for whilst I’m in London. I’m quite content to just be and visit with my friends, go on everyday errands with them or whatever.

      As for what’s wrong with the US: in the simplest terms, we’re a backwater, juvenile nation. Our government has recently declared war on women, cutting funding for female healthcare, food for needy mothers and children, wanting to redefine rape and call rape victims “accusers”, one state wants to make it legal to kill abortion providers, another wants to give hospitals the right to let women die rather than perform an abortion…. And don’t even get me started on the second- and third-class citizen status of anyone outside the hetero-normative model. We’re messed up.

      I know the UK isn’t perfect, but in many ways you are more progressive than the US and more in line with my beliefs. And, y’know, I have friends there and whatnot.

      Does that answer the question? 😉

  3. The Dreamer 27 February 2011 at 12:35 #

    Oh dear! Talk about grammar drama… :s
    I get like this sometimes when I’m juggling three tasks at once! Oops! 🙂

Leave a Reply

